9.20.2016

Review: The Trouble with Women by Jacky Fleming

Off to ride my bicycle... (5 stars)

Forgive me, my arms are so short I almost had to ask my genius husband to type this review for me. So I'll be brief. This tongue-in-cheek book is a bit dry but has the spot on humor women are sure to find enjoyable. It's downright painful to read what many of these educated men of science thought of the "gentler sex".

If you want to share feminism in a fresh and darkly amusing format I much recommend this.

Notes: ARC received via NetGalley.

The Trouble with Women
by Jacky Fleming
Comics, Feminism, Humor
Print/Digital (128 pages, ANDREWS MCMEEL)
Perfect for fans of Kate Beaton, Lena Dunham, and Caitlin Moran, The Trouble with Women is a feminist's brilliant, tongue-in-cheek, hysterical look at women's "issues," "frailties," and "failures" in our not-so-distant history.
Ever noticed that women don't feature much in history books, and wondered why? Then this is the book for you. In The Trouble with Women, feminist artist Jacky Fleming illustrates how the opinions of supposed male geniuses, such as Charles Darwin (who believed that women have smaller brains than men) and John Ruskin (who believed that women's main function was to praise men), have shaped the fate of women through history, confining them to a life of domesticity and very little else.
Get ready to laugh, wince, and rescue forgotten women from the "dustbin of history," while keeping a close eye out for tell-tale "genius hair."





No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting The Rhialist. Your comments are appreciated!

The Rhialist (Rhianna Walker) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.